Zola Jesus drops “Desire” video ahead of new album ‘Arkhon’—watch


Zola Jesus has released a new single called “Desire.” The track is accompanied by a music video.

“Desire” comes ahead of Zola Jesus‘ upcoming album Arkhon, out May 20 via Sacred Bones. The record is her first in five years.

Read more: Green Day, Dominic Fike, Weezer, more to perform at 2022 Outside Lands

Zola Jesus spoke about the meaning behind the song in a press release. “‘Desire’ was written in one sitting at my piano at home,” she explains. “The song was an exorcism for my pain and lack of closure around heartbreak. Sometimes songs are written simply for the cathartic effect of playing them. This is one of those songs. Performing it feels like the most tangible way to experience that closure for myself. Some days I would sit at home playing this song over and over on my piano, just to provide myself that sense of control over what I was feeling. I recorded the song at the studio in one take, and also got video while I was there to document the memory of the performance. The footage of that day is the core of the video for ‘Desire.’”

Watch the A.F. Cortes-directed video below. You can preorder Arkhon here.

Arkhon tracklisting

1. “Lost”
2. “The Fall”
3. “Undertow”
4. “Into the Wild”
5. “Dead & Gone”
6. “Sewn”
7. “Desire”
8. “Fault”
9. “Efemra”
10. “Do That Anymore”

View Original Source Here