Gary Holt Says He Was “Convinced” There Was More Than


There’s partying a little too hard and there’s what Exodus‘s Gary Holt must have experienced in the early days. At least that’s the only conclusion that comes to mind after hearing him he jokingly swear that there must have been multiple Lemmy Kilmisters occupying several bars across London in a recent BangerTV interview.

As one of many metal and hard rock artists tapped to participate in a Motörhead tribute album for Psycho Las Vegas’s in-house record label Psycho Waxx, Holt sat down with BangerTV to share his admiration for the iconic British band and Lemmy himself.

“We [in Exodus] used, back in the day, squander more money on tours. When we did a European tour, we insisted that we had to spend a week in London first — to acclimate to the time change. Basically, it was us partying like fucking animals for five to seven days.

This was when Lemmy still lived in England and London. And we’d go out to a bar and there’s Lemmy. We’d go up and hang out [with] him, do some drugs or whatever and have some drinks. [We’d tell him] ‘We’re gonna go to this other place.’ ‘All right. See you guys later.’

And we’d get there and he’s already sitting at the bar; I mean, he’s been there for an hour. And then we went to another place and he’s there ahead of us, and we left him sitting at the bar. And ever since then we’re convinced that there’s at least three different Lemmys, ’cause he couldn’t possibly have done it. But, you know, Lemmy is God, so…”

Along with Holt, Nick Oliveri, of Stöner, Kyuss, and Queens of the Stone Age fame also spoke highly of Motörhead. While Holt was asked to lay down a solo for the “Ace of Spades” cover, Oliveri provided additional vocals and bass to the track.

“Lemmy was a huge influence on my music and me. [They were] definitely the one band I fanboy out on. It’s crazy, the last time I saw him he was doing a thing with Dave Grohl – a birthday party thing and I sang a song. And I went back to this room they gave us and Lemmy was in there. I said ‘hey, how are you doing’ and he asked me ‘are you still drinking?’ I said ‘yeah, you?’ And he says ‘yea’ and he goes ‘I don’t think Coke, there’s too much sugar.’ He was drinking Jack on the rocks and I didn’t have the heart to tell him that Jack Daniels has [a lot of sugar]. I just said ‘yeah, that’s the way to go. That’s smart.’”

In addition to Holt and Oliveri, Kyle and Kelley Juett (Mothership) shared their own Motörhead stories. You can hear everyone’s stories in the video below, as well as a music video for the “Ace of Spades” cover featuring Holt, Oliveri, Philip H. Anselmo (Down, Pantera), Chuck Garric (Alice Cooper), Sacha Dunable (Intronaut), Dwid Hellion (Integrity), and Zach Wheeler and Tom Polzine (Howling Giant).

Löve Me Förever: A Tribute To Motörhead track listing:

01. King Dude – Killed by Death
02. Stöner – R.A.M.O.N.E.S.
03. High on Fire – Iron Fist
04. Cephalic Carnage – Order / Fade to Black
05. EYEHATEGOD -Motörhead
06. Lord Buffalo – God Was Never On Your Side
07. Howling Giant w/ Chuck Garric & Calico Cooper – Love Me Like A Reptile
08. Mothership – Bomber
09. Foie Gras – Born to Lose
10. Psychlona – Iron Horse
11. Blackwater Holylight w/ Matt Pike – Please Don’t Touch
12. Creeping Death – In the Name of Tragedy
13. The Bridge City Sinners – Go to Hell
14. Exhorder – Sacrifice
15. Death By Stereo – Born to Raise Hell
16. Midnight – Dirty Love
17. Relaxer – America
18. Phil Anselmo / Gary Holt / Kelley Juett / Sacha Dunable / Tom Polzine / Nick Oliveri / Dwid Hellion / Kyle Juett / Chuck Garric / Zach Wheeler – Ace Of Spades

View Original Source Here